Link Search Menu Expand Document

The FuzzBench service

Note: This document and most of the service/ directory is only intended for use by FuzzBench maintainers. It will contain hardcoded values and references to things that don’t make sense for other users.

Overview

This document discusses the FuzzBench service. The service works as follows: When a user wants a new experiment they add the experiment to experiment-requests.yaml. Twice a day at 6 AM PT (13:00 UTC) and 6 PM PT (01:00 UTC) a cron job on the service instance will execute the script run.bash. run.bash will clone FuzzBench and then execute automatic_run_experiment.py which starts newly requested experiments.

Setting up an instance to run an experiment

This shouldn’t be necessary, but here are instructions in case the current instance is lost.

  1. Run setup.bash. This will build and install a supported Python version, download the cloud_sql_proxy and run it so that we have a connection to the db.

  2. Install the cron job. An example you can use is in the crontab file. Note that you must fill in POSTGRES_PASSWORD and $HOME.

  3. Verify that the service is running. One way you can debug this is by looking at the stdout/stderr of run.bash which is saved in /tmp/fuzzbench-service.log. If something isn’t working you should probably verify that run.bash works on its own. Note that run.bash is executed from a checkout of FuzzBench that isn’t automatically updated. So if you need to update you must do so with git pull --rebase.

Automatic merging

Experiments that are run using the service will be marked as nonprivate and on completion automatically merge using clobbering.